Elkton Kentucky

Fire Department

The Elkton Fire Department is under the direction of Chief Derrell Waggoner. Daniel Smith serves as Assistant Fire Chief. The Department also includes a force of eighteen volunteers, which serves the city limits of Elkton and surrounding areas. The Department also serves Todd County in conjunction with other volunteer fire departments from Guthrie, Trenton, Allegre and Sharon Grove.

Elkton Volunteer Fire Department
503 S. Main Street
PO Box 578
Elkton, Ky 42220

Application for Volunteer Fireman: Fire Department Volunteer Application

Email: Firedept@elktonky.com

Facebook Page: Elkton Volunteer Fire Department Facebook Page


May 9, 2016: At the May 9, 2016 Elkton City Council meeting, recently retired fireman Bruce Rager was presented with a marble award thanking him for his 33 years of service.

Bruce Rager Retirement

From L to R: Fire Chief Derrell Waggoner, Fireman Bruce Rager, Assistant Fire Chief Daniel Smith (back row), City Council Member David Powell, Mayor Jackie Boyd Weathers


January 23, 2014:  The Firefighters of the Elkton Volunteer Fire Department were pleased to be the recipients of a set of flags and stands for their meeting room. Presented to them on January 23, by Kimberly Sears, Field Representative for Woodmen of the World and an honorary firefighter Kane Reed.

Flag Donation 2014









December 10, 2013: The Elkton Volunteer Fire Department recognized four members for their many years of service. Thank you for your service!

EVFD Years of Service 2013

From L to R: Perry Knight – 10 years; Jason Wilson – 10 years; Darrin Cole – 20 years; and, Bruce Rager – 30 years












December 11, 2012: The city recognized seven firefighters for their continuing years of service to the Elkton VFD.

Front Row (L-R): Larry Ross – 30 years, Derrell Waggoner – 33 years, & Jim Weathers – 40 years. Back Row (L-R): Bobby Standard – 34 years, Pete Steger – 31 years, Ben Ricchuite – 30 years & Mac Harper – 40 years.